• city horizon
  • History


    The St. John’s Board of Trade was found in 1971 to help business succeed and make St. John’s a great place to live and make a living

    The St. John’s Board of Trade is incorporated under the Board of Trade Act of Canada in 1971 and has a charter to operate within the municipal boundaries of the city of St. John’s

    We are a members of the Canadian Chamber of Commerce the primary and vital connection between business and the federal government, to advocate for public policies that will foster a strong, competitive economic environment that benefits businesses, communities and families across Canada.

  • Past Presidents

    We are proud of the thousands of individuals who have volunteered and served on committees.
    The Board of Trade has
    been fortunate to have business leaders step up and take leadership roles in pur organization, to represent business at all levels of government.

    Pictured below are some of the Past Presidents. This photo was taken Feb. 2012 when the Past President's Recognition Program, which honours our past presidents, who helped build the organization, was launched. Each past president has been a significant player in the business community over the last few generations. With the help of Pat Thompson of Diamond Design, a long-term Board member, a gold pin was designed with a representation of the Cabot Tower and a single diamond. The pin symbolizes the weight of the position and the commitment made to the business community.

  • Presidents from 1970 - 1979

    1970    Robert W. Innes
    1971    J. Burford Ploughman      
    1972    William A. Neal
    1973    William A. Neal
    1974    Graham W. Mercer
    1975    Graham W. Mercer
    1976    Andrew G. Crichton
    1977    George Warren
    1978    Edwin S. Hussey
    1979    Gerald B. Anthony

  • Chairs from 2010 - 2019

    2010    Derek Sullivan
    2011    Jo Mark Zurel
    2012    Steve Power
    2013    Denis Mahoney
    2014    Sharon Horan
    2015    Kim Keating
    2016    Des Whelan
    2017    Dorothy Keating
    2018    Andrea Stack
    2019    Janis Byrne

  • Presidents from 1980 - 1989

    1980    Gerald B. Anthony
    1981    Richard W. Emberley
    1982    Christine A. Fagan
    1983    Christine A. Fagan
    1984    Bernard E. Beckett
    1985    Bernard E. Beckett
    1986    A. Geoff Tooton
    1987    John V. O’Dea
    1988    Fraser H. Edison
    1989    Fraser H. Edison

  • Chairs from 2020 -

    2020    Andrew Wadden
    2021    Justin Ladha


  • Presidents from 1990 - 1999

    1990    David M. French
    1991    Geoff Carnell
    1992    Andrew Collins
    1993    Siobhan Coady
    1994    Gerald V. McDonald
    1995    Roger D. Flood
    1996    Anne Rose
    1997    Robert Crosbie
    1998    Sandy Gibbons
    1999    Martin Lockyer

  • Chairs from 2000 - 2009

    2000    Gary Follett
    2001    Michael J. Wilson
    2002    Gary Reardon
    2003    Paul Thomey
    2004    William C. Budgell
    2005    Marilyn Thompson
    2006    Raymond Dillon
    2007    Cathy Bennett
    2008    Donna Stone
    2009    Bruce Templeton